Chapter History - The "UNTOUCHABLE" Omicron Iota Chapter of Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Inc.
Make your own free website on

      In the fall of 1999, the Alpharetta-Smyrna Alumni Chapter of Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Incorporated conducted an informational under the leadership of Brother Patrick Shelton. Although there was limited participation on the part of prospective men at Kennesaw State University, Brother Shelton remained unrelenting in his efforts to start a chapter. On January 5, 2000, Brother Demetrius Smith-Decatur Alumni Chapter, joined the KSU Administration. Brother Smith and Brother Shelton set out on a quest to manifest the "Dreamer's" dream at KSU. In less than one week, Brothers Patrick Shelton and Demetrius Smith, held yet another informational on Sunday, January 9, 2000. This meeting would be the catalyst that spun the initiation of the Spring 2000 initiates known as the "Kommission".

      On March 17, 2000, the sacred secrets of Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Inc. were entrusted to the four pioneers of this Noble Klan at KSU. The "Kommission" were as follows: Brothers James Wade, Teon Brown, Renwick Jones and Corey Shackleford. These Brothers were guided under the leadership of Brother Rashidi Jones-Intake Chairman - Alpharetta/Smyrna Alumni Chapter for this history making endeavor with the assistance of Brothers Patrick Shelton and Demetrius Smith. These four initiates came into the Bond under the chapter letters of Kappa Zeta, which is an intermediate chapter of Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Incorporated located at Clark Atlanta University.

      With the intermediate chapter being located at Clark-Atlanta, this left them with no true chapter to call their own. Therefore, the KSU members set out to gain their own chapter letters and identity. Unable to truly operate as an official chapter, the members still elected the group of first officers. These officers were: Renwick Jones (Polemarch and Social Chairman), Teon Brown (Exchequer and Civic Chairman) and Corey Shackleford (Keeper of Records, Intake Chairman and Historian). Subsequently, they set out on a quest to obtain their own Greek call letters for their University. During the year of 2000-2001, the "Kommission" worked tireless on community service and Guide Right initiatives such as a Kappa Summer Baskettball Camp at Kennesaw State University for children ages 9-14. They also volunteered as mentors with Odyssey Peer Mentoring Program through the Office of Minority Student Retention Services on the campus of KSU. Adopting a homeless shelter in Cherokee County, the brothers spent many hours on Saturdays with children who just wanted to talk, play basketball, play cards and discuss college life as well as personal growth issues. It was a very productive year. After a busy year of working in the fraternity on the campus and in the Cobb County community, it was not shocking when there were over 15 gentlemen who attended the informational on Friday, January 12, 2001. This informational led to the discovery of four eligible candidates for initiation.

      On March 9, 2001, the "Korleone's" were initiated into the Bond and were as follows: Brothers James Stewart , Montonio Douglas, Julius Davis and Emeka Ngonadi under the guidance of Brother Corey Shackleford-Intake Chairman. Also, under the leadership of Alpharetta/Smyrna Alumni Chapter Polemarch, Brother Martin Raxton, and Province Polemarch, Brother Dr. Stanley J. Pritchett, Sr., an alliance was formed with Southern Polytechnic State University's four Spring 2001 initiates known as the "Kreation..." Like their predecessors, these men were all initiated under the Kappa Zeta Chapter.

      After a year of work, on May 18, the Kennesaw State University Chapter of Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Incorporated was chartered and given the Greek letter designation of Omicron Iota. Thus enjoying the honor of being the first African American male fraternity chartered on the campus of Kennesaw State University. The first elected Chapter Officers of Omicron Iota were as follows: Corey Shacleford (Polemarch and Historian), Julius Davis (Vice Polemarch), Montonio Douglas (Keeper of Records), James Stewart (Keeper of Exchequer and Intake Chairman), Emeka Ngonadi (Strategus and Social Chairman), Renwick Jones (Lt. Strategus) and Teon Brown (Guide Right and Civic Chairman).

      Several other members of the Noble Klan were supportive in the realization of Omicron Iota. They were Brothers Clarence Anderson, Ray Brown, Terrence Hill, Lavelle Love, JuReginald Sinclair, Ryan Thomas and Shelton Tremble.

      Deference to our beloved Ilustrious Founders of the great Fraternity: Brothers Elder Watson Diggs, affectionately known as the "Dreamer", John Milton Lee, Byron Kenneth Armstrong, Guy Levis Grant, Marcus Peter Blackmore, Ezra Dee Alexander, Henry Thomas Asher, Paul Waymond Caine, Edward Giles Irvin and George Wesley Edmonds. We give much deference to all the brothers for their tireless efforts and dedication towards the cause of Phi Nu Pi. Due to their hard work, Omicron Iota Chapter is now able to indulge in the presence of that "Good Old Kappa Spirit" as Kappa Men. We proudly yell, "DEFERENCE" with sincere admiration to these Brothers for making the quest of Kappa Alpha Psi and Phi Nu Pi obtainable for the Omicron Iota Chapter of Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Inc. at Kennesaw State University.

      On October 26, 2001, the Alpha line of Omicron Iota was initiated into the bond. The Kambino's were as follows: Deon Blake, Dolapo Erinkitola, Martin Frazier, Cedric King and Derrick Williams.

The Omicron Iota Chapter under the leadership of Life Member, Polemarch Corey D. Shackleford was awarded the James B. Hardy Undergraduate Chapter of the Year Award for the Southeastern Province at the 51st. Provincial Meeting in Greenville, S. Carolina, April 5, 2002, under the leadership of the Southeastern Province Polemarch, Bro. Dr. Stanley J. Pritchett, Sr.

Institutional awards were also earned by the chapter such as: Kennesaw State University Greek Organization of the Year-2002, African American Student Association-Student Organization of the Year-2002, and our very own Corey Shackleford was named the Greek Student of the Year-2002. The Chapter sucessfully completed these tasks with only 10 months of existence.

| Intro | HOME | Chapter History | Charter Members | Biographies | Chapter Officers | Scheduled Events |

| Lines | Chapter News | Community Service | Photos | Founders | Links | Contact Us | Objectives |

| History | | Advisors |